This is the day

By wrencottage

Unexpected Treat

A drizzly, grey day with only a short walk which didn't lead to any photo opportunities. Just as the light was starting to fade I went out into the garden to pick a small posy to pop into a little 'milk bottle crate' that I love using each spring. It has four tiny milk bottles which I fill with tiny blooms.

Having picked a few tête à têtes, hellebores and cornus stems I then went through the house and out the front door to find a few more in my front garden. It was then that I spotted a slim cardboard box standing upright against the house wall beside the doorstep. Our postman is off sick at the moment, and a new postman had called a short while earlier, rung the bell, and then put some post through the letterbox and walked off. I went to the door but there was no-one there, so I had assumed this new postman was just alerting me to the fact that the post had finally arrived. I certainly hadn't spotted the box! It was a good job I went out to the front of the house or the flowers might have been sitting there all night ...

The bouquet was just gorgeous. I have tried my best to take a decent photo but I'm just too tired I suppose. This is the best I can manage. The stocks are so fragrant and the roses are really fresh and delicate, although I am assured they will look even better tomorrow after they've had a long drink overnight.

These flowers were from my best and oldest friend, whom I met when we started school together at 11 years old, which was 62 years ago. I shed a few tears when I saw who they were from – she's a really special and much loved friend, and it was lovely to know she is thinking of me. We've been through quite a lot together over the years. Old friends are the best friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.