Four gifts from Katharina

Today I had a wonderful meeting, with Katharina, a friend from high school and from my early twenties. For some reason our roads parted. A couple of years ago we got in touch again, through Facebook. We live a two hours drive from each other and today we had a reunion in Lier, just in the midle. I was a little excited, 40 years without contact is a long time, but she was just as sympatic as before and we talked like yesterday. She brought me four gifts:
- an old book about sleddogs in Russia, since she connect me with sleddogs
- a pillow, made from a tablecloth, used by her parents, when I used to visit them
- a case with dalahorse, made by a colleague of her, who is from Dalarna in Sweden
- a dala horse in glass, since we have a house in Sweden.
A Dala horse is a traditionel carved, painted wooden statue of a horse in the Swedish province of Dalarna. In the olden days the Dala horse was mostly used as a toy, in modern times it has become a symbol of Dalarna, as well as of Sweden in general,
I really appreciated these personal gifts :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.