Thufa

It's been a very rainy day here in Reykjavik but it's good that it's washed a lot of the snow away. What it has left is very slippy though. We spent a couple of hours at the Museum of Photography and found it a good way to spend time on a rainy day. There were some interesting themes to the photographs. I was quite taken by some photos that were split into two frames and it was interesting how it changed the way your eye scanned the two halves. Maybe I'll adopt that technique for my blips.

At about 4 o'clock I decided to walk out the Thufa or Þúfa in Icelandic. It was lethal for much of the way when I got outside the central area. They don't clear pavements here and I foolishly didn't have my spikes with me. Once it was off the busy roads I walked on the road. The Thufa is a public artwork by Ólöf Nordal and it intends to present a place of serenity in the bustling capital city. It's a round hill with a traditional Icelandic hut for wind drying fish on the top and there's a circular path up there. It was very slippy today and I generally prefer a view from below. 

It's the Wide on Wednesday challenge today (hosted by JensPhotos - thanks Jen and welcome to hosting) and the theme is Symmetry. The hill is very symmetrical so it fits the bill perfectly. I've added a couple of extras. The first shows people walking up the hill which gives a bit of scale and the second is of whooper swans on the city lake. They were giving a recital and it sounded very good. I don't think I've seen whooper swans before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.