Goosander Pair

Nice, if damp, Top Field dogwalk with my daughter this morning catching up on the news of her weekend away in Alicante celebrating her husband's fiftieth.

Ollie dog and I walked at Fishers Green this afternoon, even though it was raining. We were greeted at the door of the new hide by a couple of volunteers who were pleased to see us they'd only had one other visitor. They were a pair of friendly wags and I enjoyed a bit of banter with them.

Lovely to see a pair of goosanders in the swollen, fast-flowing river. We watched them for quite a while as I thought that they might be about to mate. The female (extras) seemed quite flighty and the male kept stretching his head up straight. I loved his soft call. My camera was getting quite wet so we didn't stay to see what happened.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.