samsticks

By samsticks

Captain Nono

I'm going to start a sporadic series called 'Key Players', where I aim to blip portraits of people that are close to me and that have a real impact on my life. I was going to start this today, and I took a great portrait of my 10-week old son Miles which will certainly end up on the wall in our house.

However, looking through the pictures I'd taken of him, I really enjoyed this photo. Although Miles is slightly out of focus, he was trying really hard to lift his head up and look at one of his toys, a sock rabbit called 'Captain Nono'. I absolutely love the interaction in this photo, so I thought I'd share with everyone in Blipland. I think that I'm learning that sometimes the photo doesn't have to be technically perfect to be appealing. I tend to not look at shots that are out of focus or have motion blur and they often get culled as I chimp. I think that blip is having a therapeutic effect on me. :-)

This is also my first real attempt at black and white using the colour gradient map. I'm hoping to use this more for my portrait series, so any advice would be gratefully received!

I'm hoping that my first 'Key Players' blip will be my amazing wife... we'll see how we go at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.