Old Windmill Site -- 'Het Fortuin', Breda

Cycled to town!  Fabulous weather and not in the mood to pay parking fees or spend for fuel for a non-essential trip to town.  Stopped by Rituals for a refill for my scent sticks and then cycled to the corner of van Coothplein - Markendaalseweg to take this shot.

The windmill stood right behind where those trees are now standing.  It was called 'Het Fortuin' or 'Fortune'.  There was a Fortune 1, built either in the late 1600s or sometime in the 1700s.  After Fortune 1 came Fortune 2, built in 1838, and completely demolished not so long ago, in 1986, the year AW and I first met.  I emigrated in December 1988, so I missed it by a couple of years, and yet I can still remember having seen the round form on the ground which used to be part of the foundation.

There is a link but it doesn't seem to be able to work when I paste it here, even when I manually type it.  For anyone interested, search terms 'molen het fortuin Breda' should work.  You'll get a page out of the database.  The site will show you very old pictures of the mill, but also the last shot taken in 1986 when it was in the process of being torn down.

Cycled back home after this, making a total of 10 km.  Housework, followed by the ZOOM meeting at 18.30, but I hung around only up to 19.45 because I didn't want to miss another new episode of Death In Paradise, and AW played regional bridge online.

Altogether a good day, the foreign news notwithstanding.  Ukraine is fighting back and there is a lot of positivity in knowing that and following updates on their bravery, ingenuity, and strength of character, but also news on the sanctions and their effects and on the support, moral, material, and financial, that Ukraine is getting from around the world.  I won't get bogged down like the Russian tanks in the mud (around 6000 enemy troops have been killed in the meantime) but keep moving forward.  I refuse to bow my head and feel defeated.  The Ellaphant is most likely behaving like a naive simpleton, but she does not give a hair.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.