Back to the walker

Broke my ankle yesterday because of a very stupid action in the gym. Remember these comics where someone puts a chair on top of a table to reach a high point?
What I created was way less high but still very wobbly. And in a split second before I put my foot on that step I knew it wasn’t safe. Did it anyway and fell …
So that will limit my range of motion drastically for weeks as I also can’t drive.
It surprised me how adaptable mind and body are to drastically changed living conditions and canceled plans . Noticed that also in 2015 when diagnosed with cancer. This same ability probably also helps people to overcome and survive war situations, loosing house and home. Humans can be reduced to survival mode.
Then all the stuff that we surround ourselves with appears to be unnecessary.

But I am grateful that I had my friendly tools from the last surgery still in the house. We live a bit far away from a bigger city where one could just go and buy a walker etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.