DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Excuse me

So. This arrived.

I’ve always wanted to do jury service but this has come at the worst possible time; just as I’m starting my new job.

I have sent a reply asking to be excused; I doubt it will work, but it’s worth a try.

Whilst I accept it’s a public duty, the payment to cover loss of earnings is pitiful!!Just under £65 a day (or £32 if you’re there for less than four hours); which is less than minimum wage based on a 7 hour day.

If I do have to do it, then maybe it’s for the best that I’ll be in my new job, as at least I can go into work if I’m discharged for the session to try and top up my wage.

I’ve spoken to a few people at work today about it and most have had a ‘hit and miss’ experience. Either not needed and sent home (seemingly they recruit more jurors than they need), or the crims pled guilty so the court was dismissed.

I just have to wait for a reply now to see if I’m excused or not :-/

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.