Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Too Much Time

Sat looking at these screens for way too long today.  I was still there in the evening, keeping one eye on a webcast of a Full Council Meeting of Wolverhampton City Council.  I was interested in the tenth agenda item which would confirm the transfer of my Council's taxi licensing service to their regulation service.  If it went ahead it was going to be another busy day tomorrow.

In the time I was keeping an eye on proceedings (from 7:30 pm to about 10:30 pm) they only debated two items.  I say debate but it was uncomfortable viewing with many of the contributors posturing and making digs at members of the other political parties.  If this is democracy it needs a reboot; I was worried for our decision coming up later.  I went to bed oblivious to the decision.

When I got up I tried to find out the result, but the webcast was still being archived.  I was astonished to hear later that the last three agenda items, including the taxi transfer were all moved and seconded without debate at 2:40 am.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.