Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A Spring resolution

I can't believe the change in the weather through today - it began dullish, dampish, not-too-coldish - and by teatime the sky had suddenly and miraculously cleared to a wonderful, briefly-flaming sunset and now it's cold and still and silent. My usual shopping trip before breakfast was unusually sociable - I met a friend whom I've known for ages (taught her daughters, her husband worked in the school) but barely seen since the pandemic began, and hailed another friend whom I see every week in choir, all before I was even out of the car park. The result was that I took longer than usual, even though my trolley was much less laden. I suspect the reason for that was our being away for the weekend and bringing home more goodies to eat - either that or we'll discover wants before the week is out.

The morning thereafter whizzed by - breakfast, coffee, a phone call from my sister - and I had a trial meeting to attend online at 2pm. This was in preparation for the Diocesan Synod, which I don't want to attend in person this year because I'm still not happy with meeting a large group of people in a relatively confined indoors space, especially as Argyll - and particularly Oban, where the meeting takes place - has increasing number of Covid cases just now and I don't want to spoil my plans for the following week. Trouble was, because the meeting is being held in Argyll & Bute Council premises, they're not allowed to use Zoom, so this was a wee practice on Microsoft Teams. All I can say is thank goodness for Zoom ... but we had quite a laugh.

By this time the chances of a shower had diminished to negligible and we headed out to Benmore Gardens for a walk. That's where the flowers come from - the daffodils under the giant redwoods, the rhododendrons scattered throughout the garden, where they flourish mightily. To celebrate, I've just downloaded a new app for collage-making; my previous one appears to be defunct. I've added an extra of the sunset sky just because ...

I resolved today that I'm not going to let dread take over my life in the way that it has this last week. It seems a pointless waste when there's next to nothing I can do, and it feels as though I'm letting the forces of evil triumph.

Anyone else noticing a sudden downturn in their viewing figures?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.