In Which I Gild the Lily!

It has been a very wintry winter, with lots of cold temps and ice, but not as much snow as we sometimes get. One of the fun things I love to do in the cold, cold weather is to blow bubbles and photograph them as the crystals freeze. It's pure magic!

I have been experimenting with how my bubbles look with other objects. And of course, me, being the packrat that I am, I am picking things up everywhere. On my walks, I bring home leaves and all kinds of weird little things in my pockets!

I have been going through a Klimt phase that may not ever end, and so I had the great idea that I needed some gold paint. I searched through my nearly endless nail polish collection but did not find what I wanted, which was sort of a gold lamé. I found lots of sparkles, but no shiny gold. Imagine that.

So on our last trip to Walmart, I checked out paints and nail polishes, hoping to find what I was looking for. A tiny bottle of gold nail polish that was very nice was around $5. A much larger spray can of gold Rust-Oleum paint was also about that price. So it came along home with me, and on this day, I got it out and I gilded that lily!

Well, they're not actually lilies. It's a variety of stuff. There are leaves, and little flowers from the snowball bush, also called viburnum. I named it Private Snowball when I requested that my dad give a plant cutting to me, after the scene from a movie many of you will know. How I laughed when he handed me the plant in a pot and I saw he had tagged it Sergeant Snowball! He gave it a promotion!

Anyway, there are three heads from poppy flowers, and there's a sort of maroon round leaf that I painted with a nail polish color called Rich Lady, by Sally Hansen. It is shade of burgundy with sparkles, and so that's what I used on the teasel and the round leaf.

A little pine cone. A seed pod from *peers closer* maybe a tulip tree? A feather. Yes, you see that I am part magpie. And yes, I know you're not allowed to OWN real feathers, but I figured if I played with this one for a day and released it, that would have to do. And the feather is gone now, already, as I write this, but if you must, after seeing this photo of a feather I played with, lock me up and take me downtown!!!!

There is to be a cold morning on Friday morning, when all of these implements will be put to good use, and you'll get to see that too, I promise! But for now, please enjoy these pretty golden and shiny and sparkly things!

My soundtrack song is this song which I have loved from the moment I heard it: the incomparable Stevie Nicks, with After the Glitter Fades.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.