Sprout lover

By robharris35

Novo capítulo

New chapter.

My new job is affording me a sense of balance in day-to-day life that I wasn’t able to achieve in my former role. The joy of going for a walk at 5pm feeling no pressure for incomplete deliverables or the impending doom of returning to ten half-written emails. The knowledge of having finished the working day with time in hand to enjoy the outdoors whilst the light is nice. For only these initial reasons (there are several others) I’m glad to have started a new chapter.

As I’ve returned from South Africa without a temporary visa to stay in Mozambique I am now faced with cancelling my old work permit and transitioning out of here pretty pronto. I met with João and Carlota who represent the organisation that helped me secure my last visa, and we discussed the logistics. It will require me to select a date to leave and decide whether I can go straight to Tanzania (where my new job is principally based) or to the UK to wait (which would be excellent on some counts but comes with memories of an anxious limbo in the not-too-distant past).

Uncertainty but a lot more manageable with the lower stress of my new job. All will hopefully become clearer in the coming days.

This counts as rush hour in Maputo’s Praça da Independência. Although to be transparent I think I caught it on a particularly slow day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.