This is the day

By wrencottage

Think small ...

I know I am not alone in feeling overwhelmed by sorrow and fear for the people of Ukraine. 

Somehow it feels so wrong for me to be able to go about my daily routines in peace, while others are suffering unimaginable deprivations and heartache over in Eastern Europe. 

Giving to charities who are supplying humanitarian aid, and praying for a miracle to end the war, are all very well and good, but they still leave me feeling a sense of guilt that I am living in a free country and am able to enjoy life; the love of family and friends and the beauty of the natural world. 

So I am trying to switch my attention away to the small treasures of nature all around me, which are helping me cope with my heaviness of heart, and they are truly being balm for my soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.