CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

60103 ’Flying Scotsman’ returned to Stroud tonight

60103 ’Flying Scotsman’ returned to Stroud this evening heading a rail tour postponed from two weeks ago, when the storm Eunice hit the country. The tour left London’s Paddington station early this morning on a circular tour to Worcester, via Oxford, followed by its return journey up the steep Stroud valley leading to Swindon and the main line back to Paddington.

The weather was forecast to be dull but the sun broke through as it began to set. I'd considered finding a highly original location providing a well lit viewpoint. But as the day drew on my mind changed to getting the easiest solution. I soon realised that my first choice, a side view of the train as it traversed our local River Frome on Capel’s Mill viaduct, would look at the shadowy side, with the setting sun directly behind it. Not a sensible option in low light.

At the last minute I reverted to standing on Bowbridge, the road bridge closest to our house at the bottom of The Horns valley.  I had to set the camera to maximise the available light, which wasn’t ideal. The view I’ve chosen is of the engine about three hundred yards from Stroud station,  midway across the red brick viaduct, just before it reaches the small metal section which spans the arch over the course of the river. I’ve added an extra as the engine neared the bridge on which I was standing. I love the glowing light that emanates form the engine’s cab the effect of the fire door being wide open as the fireman loads coal into the firebox in preparation for the very hard run up the steep valley ahead, culminating in the notorious Sapperton Bank that leads into the long Sapperton tunnel under the top of the Cotswold hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.