What a loss

It seems we are no longer proud of our heritage and country. This wonderful building, built in 1869 , now a burnt out shell. It seems that the incompetent Bradford Council are unable to determine who owns it. https://www.yorkshirepost.co.uk/news/crime/dalton-mills-fire-mystery-over-buildings-ownership-as-fears-grow-over-safety-3597743

(They managed to determine who owned our car when my car parking ticket flipped over I. Order to make £25 on top of my car park fee)

Beggars belief that someone couldn’t have made something of it.

In sight of the burnt out mill, is some waste land , which used to be another Mill which was demolished (10 years or so since) to build a shopping centre which never happened. It is just waste land now though I believe they are to build an Aldi on the site now (again in sight of the current Aldi). In the photo you can see the chimney of the burnt out mill). There is still a smaller mill standing on the site but unoccupied and that I understand is to be demolished anytime soon too.  https://www.keighleynews.co.uk/news/19088426.letter-stone-keighley-mill-stay-town/

The cricketers pub has announced it is closing as it is no longer viable. I am not sure if that too will be demolished, but I went to take a photo just in case.

What once was a proud Industrial town is slowly being destroyed, and it seems no one is listening to those that care. I thought the idea was levelling up, not levelling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.