Joyous Dog, Scary Car and Camelia

Wow, what a day. 

We had friends J and M visiting today, they stayed for lunch and it was great to catchup as we haven't seen them since September last year.

J is a petrol head, has been a mechanic since he was a sperm and has forgotten more about engines than most people will ever know. 

His latest creation is a 'modified' 1966 Austin Sprite. It is small, low, draughty, noisy and fast. Very fast

He reckons it achieves 8000rpm and 135 bhp. It does do nought to 60 in six seconds. My underpants will testify to that. In a virtually horizontal position, six inches from the road travelling at seventy miles per hour is stimulating to say the least. I can tell you.

As a contrast, and to calm things down a bit we then went for a run out in a proper car. My Jag can do nought to sixty in 6.5 seconds. Positively tortoise by comparison. But it does it with consummate ease, quietly and in sublime comfort. I know which I prefer. 

Two extremes of driving experience in one day. Great fun!

After a a companionable lunch  I took Hollie for a walk and we played ball against the backdrop of a firestorm sunset. Brilliant and mesmerising.

My neighbour's Camelia is in full flower, and is looking fantastic. It is about seven foot high, and I think it is better than it has ever been. Amazing.

I have not seen or heard any news today. I need a break and have the privilege of being able to zone out for a while. I am desperately sad for those who are not so fortunate... What can we do... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.