Happenchance

By KimChristie

Sambal

While in Borneo I fell in love with one foodstuff in particular. Sambal. An evil chili condiment which is about as hot as i imagine the fires of hell to be!!! You find it on most tables beside the salt and pepper. It is not for the faint of heart. Literally a drop is almost enough for a whole plate of food.
I never managed to buy any to bring home so I have endeavored to make my own. It nearly blew Bjornicos head off!!!
Here are the quantities I used. 36 chilies and 54 cloves of garlic. That was just for starters. The end result 2 medium sized bottles of hellfire. Mwahhh haa haaa!!!!
Ironic really that I should love it as I don't really eat very hot food, but I can't get enough of this stuff plus chilies help speed up the metabolism so I reckon I'll be lashing the stuff on everything!!!
Have a lovely evening. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.