Some of the seven

I have blipped at least one of these before - they are known locally as the seven sisters, and are a  group of houses in Colintraive, facing onto the Kyles of Bute.

They were built by a speculator in the early part of the twentieth century and were rented out in the summer to families from Glasgow .  The steamer service before the First World War  was such that it was possible for someone to go into the city for at least of the part of the working day and come back in the long , light evenings , whilst everyone else stayed here for a long vacation.   Others might spend the week in town , re-joining their family for long weekends.

There is an oblique reference to Colintraive being a place for holidays in one of the Para Handy stories I seem to remember - without checking probably the one about Dougie selling the fish (though I might be wrong about that) 

Anyway the  houses are now in single ownership with some of them lived in permanently though some holiday homes still.   

I wasn't intending for this to be my blip today - I had been taking pictures of a sailing yacht coming up the Kyles - but when I turned to get back into he car this just caught my eye, with the perfect light today illuminating not just the houses but the Ayrshire coast beyond. 

So the yacht is my extra photo ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.