monochrome

By monochrome

Best of all - smoke Woodbines!

I'm off on a stag trip this weekend, and had totally overlooked the fact that each of the attendees was supposed to bring along a "dodgy" shirt, for a "dodgy shirt lottery". As such, I headed up to the charity shops up on Nicholson Street (of which there are plenty) for a look at their finest worst shirts. Five shops later, and two shirts for four pounds apiece - job done.
The unexpected shopping trip, and the fact that it was raining a little meant that I never got much blipping done at lunch time. I quite liked this old sign though.

More wallpaper stripping tonight - got quite a big wall done, so still making steady progress. What was quite nice was that the wall that I stripped happened to have some writing underneath, on the plaster, written on the 18th of January 1990 by a young family that previously stayed here. Along with their names, age and the date was a line indicating their height - tallest was"daddy" Graeme (23 1/2 years old), then "mummy" Pauline (23 years) and finally Mandy, who was 18 months old.
I quite like finding wee surprises like that, and it got me thinking about what the house would have been like back then compared to now. It's weird - your house is probably your most intimate space; it's your own private castle - where you call "home". It's strange trying to place other folk living in it rather than yourselves, wondering how they had the place decorated, where they had their furniture etc. I've always thought it would be fascinating to go back and see a house that you had lived in years ago, and see how it had changed.
Anywho, I don't think the missus would be keen on waiting until after the baby arrives to finish off decorating the kitchen, so that we could add our own mark to the wall. I did entertain the idea of tracing our outlines, and adding an arrow to her's pointing to the "bump", however I don't think she's up for that either :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.