Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Pull

Leadership skills on every door.
See reverse for more!

The corridor at the Lichfield site. A big glass wall down one side. Somewhere to grow tomatoes or other glasshouse plants. No-one will notice, will they?



Sorting out backups this evening. Making the process a little more robust and automated. I keep my images on USB HDD not on the Mac. the Mac uses Time Machine, but it was manually backing up of the external files because I already had backups in folders on the NAS. At best, i was doing these backups monthly. I can now automatically backup my (any) USB drive when it is connected and the NAS is mounted.
Not sure if Time Machine can be trusted anyway. Every few weeks it reports that the backup volume is corrupt and I have to start again. Most frustrating.

Next step?
NAS to NAS mirroring with drives in completely different parts of the building? That could be done unattended with reduced (but not removal of) risk of loosing both at the same time. Not sure how to do off-site NAS backup due to the data volumes, uplink speed and cost. Not sure I could trust myself to do backup to a USB drive and then take it somewhere else (regularly). It's all so complicated....

Any ideas anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.