DavidSmithArt

By DavidSmithArt

Red Brandling Worms

I am a NoDig gardener, so compost is very important. I've known how to make good compost for a long time, the broad outlines at least, but in the last couple of years I have been honing my skills. In the second phase of composting, after the initial heat of decomposition that should reach a weed seed-killing high of 55°C or more, the heap will be colonised by worms and other invertibrates who continue to digest the plant materials and turn it in to readily available plant food to return to the garden. In the NoDig system, compost is spread as a mulch on the soil surface, and the structure of the soil disturbed as little as possible in order to keep mychorrizal fungi myceliums intact, natural relationships in the soil food web undisturbed, and ensure optimal moisure retention. For most of my gardening life I was cynical and sceptical, but now I understand how it works and have the proof from my own garden, I am an evangelical convert. NoDig means less work and fewer weeds, with brilliant harvests: in part I have compost worms to thank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.