Shock Wolverhampton Funeral Disruption Fear Alert

Today I took the train to the mist and snow of North Wales. My journey had added points failure which meant I had to wait for 25 minutes on cold, damp, grey Wolverhampton station. I was already awash with coffee so got out the camera instead. You've guessed: a shout from the platform opposite me to tell me I wasn't allowed to take photos. I told him [yawn] it's not against the law. Station assistant reiterated that photos weren't allowed and a train manager from another train came to tell me that the photos I'd taken near the offices on the other platform were also forbidden.

OK, OK, they're wrong but I'll stop - it's not that interesting a station.

Next I am approached by a Virgin team leader who's been radioed to come and deal with the Dangerous Photographer. She tells me it's perfectly OK - the station assistant is new and didn't know the rules; I can take pictures of whatever I want apart from people and the Virgin logo. I tell her I'm not interested in the Virgin logo but why can't I photograph it? She shrugs amiably like someone who's very familiar with idiocies from on high and we part on good terms.

I then wander up to the train manager to reassure her I haven't taken any pictures of her. She's still narked and tells me that Wolverhampton station is on high alert because of The Funeral. What? Surely she's just breached security by giving that intelligence to a suspect? I tell her that if that's the case, any photos I take might actually be useful to the authorities. We part on not such good terms.

So now you know. Taking photos today might help the wrong sort of people get on trains from Wolverhampton to London next week. Naughty me.

When I finally reached the snow and mist of North Wales I found fellow blipper MariainWales and a white horse which relegated all the Wolverhamption station photos to also rans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.