rower2012

By rower2012

Me too!

This morning I noticed 2 of our 3 regular magpies sitting on the edge of the deck, right outside my window. They were looking for a late breakfast. I quickly grabbed my camera and called Paladian to bring out some mince for them (ground beef in USA), being the same breakfast Raj enjoys each day.

See a sharper image.

The one seen with the mince in his beak has been coming to us for 10 years and is the male. The other one saying "me too" is his second wife. His former wife got very ragged looking and passed away early this year.

This male seems to have 2 female companions and the younger of the two will not yet take food from our fingers, so we feed her separately on the lawn.

Magpies have fantastic eyesight and can see us through the family room window when we come home from shopping, and come swooping down from a huge tree 100 metres away. Looking for the nice free food.

I enjoy trying to get multiple birds in my blips and getting 3 magpies close together will be a challenge. Especially as the youngest female will not yet come up close. Stay tuned to see what evolves in the near future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.