The Woodland Garden (Tuesday 8th March 2022)

After what seems like an extremely long time with nothing going on in the garden, it is with great relief to see things slowly waking up. That is especially true of some of the more vulnerable young plants. For Tiny Tuesday amongst quite a few choices I have settled on the new buds from this potted acer in the patio area.

From the porch I saw a new visitor to the garden, a little dunnock. These, like sparrows, are found in many Calne gardens, but haven't found mine.

With thanks to JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.

Wednesday 9.3.2022 (1451 hr)

Blip #3597 (#3347 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2022 #035/265 + #016/100 Extras
Day #4368 (1023 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2742 (#2582 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-5 and Pentax D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens

Old Forge series
Woodland Garden
Acer series
Flora series
Spring series

Woodland Garden (March 2022) (Flickr album)(So far)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Deana Martin - Baby I See You (1966)
When Iggy Pop played this on his Confidential show a week or two ago he mentioned that there seemed to be an established route for celebrity daughters in the sixties. They would make a couple of singles, have a TV special, appear in a few films and hope that their career went places, as it did of course for Nancy Sinatra.
Deana Martin is the daughter of Dean Martin and made just two singles, released only in America, of which this was the first - a forward looking piece of psyche pop produced by Lee Hazlewood and arranged by Billy Strange (Nancy Sinatra's producer and arranger). Session musicians from the Wrecking Crew, including Glen Campbell, played on the records.
The writer was Robert Corso: "I wrote this song when I was a young man working on a parking lot in Hollywood.  One day Lee Hazelwood drove in to my lot, I had no idea who he was, but saw some records on his back seat. I asked if he was in the music business and told him I was a songwriter. He said to give him something that I had written, which I did, and a few days later, when I came to work, he was waiting for me. I was of course a little shocked and he said " Bob, we're recording both your songs today, sign these contracts!"  And thus this recording.  Actually, this was the B side and The Bottom Of Your Mind was the A.  Shortly after, Deana sang both songs on her Dad's weekly TV show. Quite exciting for me at that time.  Who would have thought!"
Iggy Pop's show is one that I record and listen back to when convenient, so this was the day that I heard this for the first time.

One year ago:
The Woodland Garden (Last year's acer buds from same plant)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.