Pour Some Sugar On Me

Because that’s the only way of making the “porridge” even remotely palatable. And I put the word porridge in quotes because the contents of that pot bore very little resemblance to what I consider as porridge.
I am aware that plant based diets are becoming more fashionable/desirable/necessary (delete as applicable, depending on your viewpoint) but I think it highly unlikely we will be making changes in this house if the evidence is anything to go by.
The jackfruit was bought a couple of years ago to try it and see if it really was a good meat substitute. The fact that the tin is still unopened - and is now 6 months past its sell by date - tells you how much enthusiasm there was for that experiment. The “porridge” was a free gift from M&S and I thought I’d have it for breakfast this morning. I finished it - mainly because there was nothing else in the house - but it was fairly disgusting in taste and texture and only palatable after adding so much sugar that if I didn’t already have type 2 diabetes, I definitely would have done afterwards.
I have nothing against those who follow alternative lifestyles and diets - just don’t expect me to join in any time soon. And I am certainly ready for a traditional meat and two veg sort of tea tonight after spending most of the afternoon trying to sort out a potential hack on my computer.
I’ve managed to delete what I think was an infected email, changed password and set up two factor identification on the relevant website and am running a full anti virus scan just to make sure. Good job I went to the gym first thing today, because the afternoon has been a bit of a write off. Flying visit to Chester planned for tomorrow, so here’s hoping for a more productive day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.