Making an Entrance

While spring is widely heralded for Sunday, it was still scarf and gloves time today when His Lordship and I sauntered through the less salubrious parts of old Edinburgh: Drummond street, the Pleasance, the dark and distinctly dodgy Cowgate with its overflowing drains and constant passing traffic, to Candlemaker Row and the steps entrance to Greyfriars and a quiet amble through the graveyard, still bare of any foliage allowing fantastic views of the Castle and George Heriot's School through the bare branches.

We found a new cafe in West College Street that looks from the outside to be part of the architectural dig nearby with rough stone walls and exposed plaster work, but which inside is very clean and orderly with delightful staff....... and the cake corners which landed my way were delicious.

This blip is taken in the Cowgate . I forgot to read the name of the establishment, but I think it may be The Caves. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.