Bert and a field of something

As soon as I finished work at noon, I dropped the car off for new tyres and a wheel alignment, and headed off to physio for my knee.

It needed clockwork precision with the tyre place located in the opposite direction to the physio in Lincoln. Bert the bike was the enabler.

I wasn't sure about the part between the tyre place and where the cycle path starts, connecting Rolleston and Lincoln. It turned out to simple and relatively safe, with most of it on footpaths for bikes and feet, including the part where I crossed state highway 1.

Phew!

It was warm and breezy, with lots of tractors and machinery in action on farms. I liked the pop of colour of this field with Banks Peninsula and the Port Hills (left end) in the background.

I have no idea what the crop is, other than a winter crop. I've seen sheep grazing here before so I'm guessing it's their tucker. The cycle path is on the other side of the road.

Bert did nothing to assist me heading to Lincoln. Heading back to the tyre place I was happy to let Bert assist me into a stiff nor'west headwind. My knee was happier about that too.

Today's gratitude: For the joy of cycling from A to B through the countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.