Swan Lake

Today's image looks like it should have been taken in a Capability Brown landscape with lakes, sweeping lawns and ornamental trees but it's actually a small rather scrubby wooded area with a sad looking water-filled creek between our local community centre and a supermarket depot. It's not exactly picturesque, although it does have a character all of its own, and is part of one of my regular running routes as it takes you away from the nearby busy road. 
In fact I'd run that route earlier in the morning but decided to head back there as I thought I might be able to get some kind of image. After negotiating past two rather over exuberant dogs (they didn't seem pleased to see me at all and their owner was nowhere to be seen) at the gate that leads from the nearby football pitches, I started walking along the circuitous path when three swans appeared in the creek below. I've never seen swans here before and they looked curiously out of place in this setting.
I waited until this one emerged from the cover of the surrounding overhanging tree branches and managed to get several shots off before it disappeared back into the shadows. It had just turned it's head away and it's neck had formed this beautiful s-shaped curve as I took my final shot, which made it stand out against all the reflections and ripples in the water. I couldn't believe my luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.