The Wonders of the Frost

We awoke to a wonderful ground mist on this day that crept all around the neighborhood on little cat feet, as they say. I am a lover of mist and fog, so as soon as I got up, I threw my clothes on, grabbed my camera, and headed out to see the mist. It was putting on an amazing show, and I walked all around as one in a dream.

I had strolled down the road a bit to photograph some trees I like, and I was done, and ready to head home to have tea and stroopwafels (or whatever I could forage in the larders). So I was standing by the road, waiting, as a big truck came around the corner, so as not to get mowed over.

And feeling a bit impatient, I must tell you, for the trucks always go too fast on our road, and there's a bad corner just beyond our house that everyone whips around dangerously. And then I looked down at my feet, for just a second, and I saw that everything around where I was standing was wrapped in winter's magic!

Wow! What a moment! Sparkling white hoar frost covered every single plant and twig and bush within my immediate sight. And suddenly, I was transported from impatience to wonder. Wow, these are winter's beautiful (but cold) glories. Please don't miss out!

Here is my soundtrack song: the Drifters, with Some Kind of Wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.