Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Royal Border Bridge

Seen from near my cottage. It was a truly splendid day and J and I went round the Elizabethan walls which were designed to keep the Scots out. They were altered in the eighteenth century, so it seems the Scots were still a problem then. I was a bit slow because of my gammy hip and didn't feel like doing a huge amount more than the walls, but I was very glad to have done them.

This bridge carries the East Coast Main Line over the Tweed and it was built between 1847 and 1850. It was designed by Robert Stephenson, the son of railway pioneer George Stephenson. It was opened by Queen Victoria, no less. It doesn't actually span the border as that lies roughly three miles to the north. I don't think the electric power cables look that aesthetic, but I suppose you can't stop progress. In any event, it looked pretty good in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.