Snaphappydays

By SnaphappySally

Cake

I have had a sociable hosting day today: my tangle drawing art class here this morning and our street Book Group here this afternoon. The tangle drawing class only expect coffee and biscuits but for some reason the book group has set the bar at cake. My neighbours have been very good at accommodating my gluten intolerance and baked gf cakes, so I didn’t think a shop bought non gf cake for them would suffice.
So I made this Jamaican Ginger cake and it was a success. You’d never know it was gf. Very moist; just like the McVities original.

We discussed our book in great detail - The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett as it covers some very interesting themes such as gender, race and identity. Can you successfully “pass” in a different life?
Our neighbour who is away in France phoned in and we had a really good chat about the book. The general opinion was it was very good, intriguing and well worth reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.