Martenitsi

For quite a few years, I've been given a martenitsa in March by И, and I'd expected her to bring one for me and the household when she returns from Bulgaria next week, but today I discovered that her mum has sent them to my office. As part of the pagan Grandmother March tradition, they are worn until one sees a flowering tree, a swallow or a stork. They are then tied to the tree. In Bulgaria this is a matter of weeks into March, but in Scotland it can take until early May! Traditionally they are just red and white to represent Pizho and Penda (Пижо и Пенда), the male and female fertility symbols, but Ю got me a nice rainbow one this year, although the ties are still red and white.

Otherwise, it was a full-on day, from lecturing at 10:00, through answering queries from my students ahead of their test on Monday, to digging out my old solver to deal with a contractual issue with an old client, and then shopping for Mum and visiting her on the way home.

I've just got in from a stroll around the town to maintain my Turfing streak, having attracted the attention of a policeman when emerging from St Mungo's Churchyard in the dark and pouring rain. I explained Turfing to him, adding that we're sure that the Turfer known as "TheInquisitor" is in the police, since they take the zones at Dalkeith and Penicuik police stations - but nothing in between! He was suitably persuaded of my innocence, and I wished him a quiet night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.