Here and Now

By Mole

Making Pierogis Day 1 of 2

(I just saw that Pierogi Week was Feb 22 - Mar 6. Pierogis we’re sold all over Cleveland.)

I went to the Ukrainian Church to help out. They sell thousands of pierogis every month or so.  Right now they’re making them every two weeks during Lent. I chopped a lot of potatoes, scooped the half sauerkraut/half potato mix into balls, and washed dishes. One of the guys brought homemade soup and macaroni and cheese for everyone to share. It was the best tomato soup I ever ate. I plan to return tomorrow to finish making and bagging the pierogis. My brother excitedly asked for a dozen potato cheese pierogis to be held in our freezer for his next visit.


Top left:  an antique grape press is used to squeeze the water out of sauerkraut.  The mixer mixes mashed potatoes, and sometimes sauerkraut is added.  Then balls are made and refrigerated overnight.


Happy Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.