Feather

Hit Farmoor Reservoir this afternoon which is near Oxford after seeing a great northern diver had rocked up a little while ago and surprisingly was still there. 

Opting for taking quote, '... the best lens you've got!' after having been told that by a birder a while ago ...regardless of the weight the distance et al? He was right though. I would add to a point, as on walking over the car park summit and seeing the reservoir and the vast expanse of water I honestly thought I'd no chance of my quarry.  Oh look ...there was a coot ... let me take that shot and be done with it. 

All was not lost and by pure chance and good luck I saw a camera group in the midst of dispersal! Posing the question about the great northern diver they pointed to the other flipping side of that vast expanse of water. Now, assessing and seeing the distance I just thought a smaller lens would be stupid and opted for the carry. 'This is what my gym sessions are for,' I think I muttered on the way home. 

Feather in my cap maybe? Certainly not as light as a feather by any means. He wasn't even feathering his nest just preening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.