Trigger thumb

I've had a really painful thumb for the past month or so, one of the reasons my blip journal has slowly diminished over the weeks. I had diagnosed it myself but finally got to see a doctor last week who confirmed the diagnosis. Our GP surgery now has a physio who provides appointments several times a week. I guess I was lucky my complaint required a physio appointment as to get a GP appointment means a wait of 3 weeks plus at least! I have to wear a splint for 4-6 weeks taking it off to exercise the thumb. I'm hoping that will relieve the problem so that I don't need  a steroid injection or surgery. I have ordered a much less intrusive splint that will only involve my thumb, but this is all I had at home so will have to suffice until the other one arrives! I still managed to volunteer at the village hall yesterday, helping with teas, coffees and waiting tables but escaped the washing up! 
In other news my new car is on order but like most things in the current climate it is a waiting game. All the more time to get excited and look forward to the freedom and independence I will regain.
My painful thumb has also affected my hobbies but I'm hoping with the new splint I'll be able to at least do some more sewing although I think the gardening will have to wait a bit longer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.