The heronry

Yesterday, on a damp, dullish day l went over to Boxers lake to check out the birds there. I was astounded at the number of herons getting their nests in order. I do see herons when l go there but not this many, some sitting on their nests, some standing up tall and some doing other things.
I started chatting to a lady who was also watching but not taking photos, she was really interesting. She has two pet Peacocks in her London suburban back yard, l was desperately hoping she would invite me to see them but that is not really the English way. Actually it turned out her family were originally from Vienna then Ukraine but were moved as refugees after the first world war to Sydney Australia where she grew up. I do hope l see her there again some time.
We are off on a short break to Wales for a few days, l am so looking forward to getting some fresh sea air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.