Eclectic

Kangazu has asked us to name our photographic style for this weeks’s Mono Monday. When I was asked this same question for my Blipper Profile last year, I gave the same answer: eclectic. Basically, I’ll photograph almost anything and everything that catches my eye. Right now, that seems to work for me - though I do sometimes feel I should focus on developing skills and expertise in one style or field rather than be a ‘jack of all trades, master of none’. But there again, there’s so much of beauty and interest in the world around us, I think I’ll stick with my approach. 

A day at the coast produces - not surprisingly - many and varied shots of sea and coastal features, but my eclectic eye has focused on Whitby Pier for today’s mono entry. So different from the pleasure-piers of souvenir-selling kiosks and seaside entertainment, Whitby’s  piers seem serious and solid, purely practical and offering only healthy exercise not frippery. Beyond the solid stone, the west breakwater stretches  further out. I love the lines of wood - the gently curving open decking strips, and the lines of vertical struts along the lower level. An eclectic photographer’s dream! 

Apologies for this late posting, but last night was definitely a ‘hit the wall’ moment and I was capable of nothing more than collapsing into bed.  Hence I’ve yet to even look as journals, let alone respond. I will catch up - but comments may be in short supply for now! Thanks so much for your lovely comments, stars and hearts for Sunday’s abbey reflections - all very much appreciated. 

Today’s main is a view from the lower level of the West Pier towards the lighthouse, east Pier and cliff-top abbey (yes, another abbey ……). Various other mono pier views are in extras!  

Thanks to KangaZu for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.