Old Windmill Site -- 'De Vier Winden', Breda

Behind this block of flats, from the corner of the van Goorstraat and the Dr. van Mierlostraat, stood a tall, imposing windmill, 'de Vier Winden', or 'the Four Winds'.  There's an old photograph of it but the link doesn't seem to work here.  It was built in 1832 and demolished in 1912.  A main road nearby was even named after it -- Vierwindenstraat.  That name is still in use, and now I know where it came from.

Cycled to the location.  It's really fab to be able to see where all of them once stood = some 14 windmills.  Hard to believe I live in a town that once had 14 windmills, almost all gone.  And the greatest I am reserving for the last.

The nicest part of the bicycle trip was on the way back.  I was already in our neck of the woods, on a path AW and I had used last time, and who do I meet on the path but.... AW himself!  Out for a walk he was.  Oh, but that was a joyful meet!  You'd think we hadn't seen each other in 10 years.  And he said later that it was the nicest part of his walk, when he saw me.  Of course we just went the rest of the way together, and he even tried to hop onto my bike and 'ride' it but I was anxious that his weight might damage the tires, so he got off.  I had to walk part of the way, but that was okay.  Highlight of the day!

Housework... news updates... gaming... 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.