Essential service

I met Zara and her owner and had a chat with her. I really wanted to pet Zara, but I told her owner that I knew we weren't supposed to touch service dogs. She gave me permission and I was delighted. What a gorgeous dog, an Anatolian shepherd. 
It was a lovely distraction. G and I watched the live feed of President Zelensky's address to the Canadian parliament this morning. We were moved to tears. The President asked us to imagine what it would be like if the horrors happened here: the loss of life, people having to flee the country with nothing, nowhere to go, not knowing if they'll ever be able to return to their country, and what will be left for them if they are able to return. It's unimaginable. The Canadian government and people are pitching in to help in many ways, like the governments and people in so many other countries. President Zelensky acknowledged that but again requested a no-fly zone over Ukraine. Such a delicate, tricky situation, but something has to be done to stop that heartless brute. No matter how many politicians and others emphasize that the Ukrainians are not alone, I'm positive that they feel that they are alone. Heartbreaking.   :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.