Silver Jubilee Bridge

The weekly geocaching trip with Paul took me to the River Mersey at Widnes and then a few miles down the road to Hale. There is a very interesting history to the various river crossings between Runcorn and Widnes and the Silver Jubilee bridge, featured here, was opened in 1961. This replaced the transporter bridge (opened 1905) which used to run to where I stood to take this photograph. In the background you can see Ethelfleda Bridge which carries the railway and was opened in 1868. The latest addition is the Mersey Gateway Bridge which opened in 2017 and I blipped this several times when it was being built. 

This evening I did some groundhopping and went down to Stafford to watch Brocton v Winsford United in the Macron Cup. An entertaining game finished 1-1 with Brocton winning 4-2 on penalties. It no longer surprises me when I turn up at one of these obscure games and bump into a friend and I had a good catch up with Martin who is another Chester supporter.

A big thank you for all the stars and hearts for yesterday's short eared owl 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.