The shape of 'um' (x2)

I should have discovered a week ago that the recording of the training session I did was audio only, not video, but I didn't - I discovered today. Oops. Anyway, as a complete novice I downloaded some audio-editing software today so I could get rid of the many extraneous sounds and silences. I had no idea that 'um' happened so often in spoken English that I would learn to recognise its shape. The white-outlined shapes are it, times two. I deleted dozens of them.

Much, much less frivolously, my extra is heart-rending. I took it last week at the vigil for Ling Felce, the cyclist killed a fortnight ago at the roundabout near my home, but it wasn't until today that I brought myself to look at the pictures I took. Brace yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.