Medallion Man!

‘What are your medals for Granddad, were you in a war?’
‘Well I’ve been in a few scrapes, but no wars. These medals were for running.’
‘You must have won a lot of races, Granddad.’
‘No, I never won any races; you were given the medals just for taking part.’
‘What races did you take part in Granddad?’
‘Some were marathons, some were half marathons, and some were 10K road races.’
‘I like this one with a picture of old man, with a white beard, who looks like you.’
‘That’s Eddie. I don’t know his second name. This was from a half marathon, in Lochaber. It was named after him. ‘Eddie’s Half Marathon.’’
‘He looks very old. Could he still run?’
‘It’s amazing what you can do, if you want to.’

From my own short story.                                                                       RT1

 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.