lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Rain and The Ataris

When we came out of Camden Town tube it was raining but it brightened up quickly producing this rainbow.

The gig was great. I was supposed to see these guys in 2009 but they had to cancel. The music reminded me of being 15 years old, in a good way. The lead singer came on and played a Get Up Kids cover with one of the support bands. I also love the Get Up Kids. Both of these bands are most popular for music they released in the late 90s and early 2000s and have floundered a bit since with writing new music but they still play the old classics which keeps everybody happy.

I also love The Ataris because they wrote a song, My Hotel Year, inspired by a short story in the Douglas Coupland book Life After God. This is one of my favourite books of all time. The band mentioning the book at the gig made me very happy. While I don't have the stamina I used to, I still feel a buzz from seeing live bands and being in a room full of other people who have also spent many hours listening to the songs at home and are all singing along and jumping around. I was just relieved it finished at 10 so I could go home to bed!

This morning I got tickets to see Jimmy Eat World the night before my 25th birthday, which should be immense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.