Post Horse Milestone

Before I posted a blip of an unusual inscribed stone I knew nothing of post horse milestones. Now, it seems, I am almost tripping over them.

Browsing through my favourite local history reference book, Charles J Smith's excellent Historic South Edinburgh, I discovered that there was another stone, not far from home, and have checked its position.

Now, a book about Colinton, entitled Portrait Of A Parish, tells me that there is a further stone, described as a stagecoach milestone, not far from the village centre. A search on Google Streetview proved fruitless so I dragged Mr Flum on a wee diversion to follow the writer's description in the flesh, as it were.

And here it is, very similar to my first blip. The text in both books confirms my original supposition on the wording, only the initial phrasing and the dates vary.

If only I had read further I would have noted that there is a yet another stone, this is even marked on the 1894 map. Frustratingly, it is not visible on Streetview; if it is indeed in the given location I might do well to arm myself with secateurs before setting out to find it.

If I hear of any more I think a stagecoach milestone blip series is imminent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.