Mike’s Photo Journal

By iPhone_User

Ready For Departure

Wednesday....and it's WIDE Wednesday.  Unfortunately, the weather was dull, overcast with drizzle, so absolutely no chance of really meeting the theme of the day..."Shadows" and something which I think should be borne in mind when setting a theme that only lasts for a day so take pity on the boy (lol - wink).  Anyhow I digress - Mrs IU had a meeting to attend which meant I had an hour or more to kiill, so I drove over to the railway station to check things out.

It seems ages since I was last here or at any railway station if I am honest (although it was only a couple of months ago that I unexpectedly walked onto a platform) and I had no idea when the next train would come through as I got out of the car, but as luck would have it, as I made my way down to the platform, this train was just coming to a stop. Unfortunately for me,  the platform entrance was at the wrong end to the front of the train, so I had to hot foot it down the other end preferring to capture the front end rather than the rear, although these days, you obviously cannot tell any difference..  However, in case it did start to depart,  I preferred it coming toward me than moving away from me, although I needn't have worried as it stayed put for several minutes.

I did hang around for another 25 minutes as I wanted to capture the arrival of another train.that was being held further up the line before calling time, as I was in a limited 30 minute waiting zone and did not want to come back to find on overzealous parking attendant testing out his pen. 

So I waited, and waited and time was passing, and then the train started to move gradually getting closer to the bridge and station, so I framed up to get the best composition for the photo and..and............and then my iPhone started vibrating and playing its little tune - it was Mrs IU calling to say she was out of her meeting and where would I like to pick her up.  What perfect timing I thought. Anyway, at the speed of a gabbladictum, I informed her what I was doing and that I would call her back as soon as the shot was in the bag....byeeeee!!!

So with the second photo done and dusted, I made my way back to the car, and got to the door just as the drizzle changed to heavy rain, so that was good timing.

Made the return phone call  for the arranged pickup and within five minutes,  saw Mrs IU sheltering from the heavy rain in a bus shelter and being able to stop just adjacent to it,, she was in the car like a flash. And with all that excitrement, it was time to drive home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.