Albatext

By Telthecelt

Daeth After Life

An exhibit rotating in the Low Parks Museum, Hamilton, Scotland. They try to hide it (the museum) with the sports complex but it's near the big Asda. It is a surprisingly large museum (yet feels cramped for space) that tries to do an awful lot but for me just misses the mark. I think it is the initial intrusiveness of military memorabilia that really puts me off it, that and the poor lighting: somebody clearly thought at the planning stage that those tiny recessed ceiling lights- augmented by 'torchlight' inside cabinets would be just the thing. I have news for them : it isn't.
I really think that, so far from the Boer, WW1 and WW2 fewer folk give a monkey's about gas masks and head shaving to stop the spread of lice amongst POWs so it has to be really engaging to work. The Eden Camp near Maltby (?) in Yorkshire on the other hand does a fantastic job of immersing visitors in war reminisces and I thoroughly recommend it for a full day's visit.
However, good little cafe/restaurant in the Low Parks museum. sadly it had no food left by 3pm (except for cakes and I wanted a lunch) so we went home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.