Saltwick Bay

And so we come to our last day here in Yorkshire - a return visit to the coast. It’s a relatively early start as I want to get to Saltwick Bay at low tide - or at least within two hours of this so I can photograph the nabs. 

After yesterday’s thick cloud and drizzle, the weather to day is glorious - deep blue skies and flecks of clouds. We tackle the steps down to the bay to find a surreal landscape of pancake-flat stone platforms - shield reefs -  sprinkled liberally with barnacle encrusted boulders. By now we’re nearly past the margin of safety for walking - clambering - out to the surfacing submarine of Black Nab, and keep a constant check on the incoming tide.  I really want to see the the wreck of the trawler, Admiral Von Tromp, which ran aground in 1976, adding to a long list of ships and boats lost on this coastline, and as we round the headland we see her, broken and rusted on the rocks.  

In my hurry, I manage to slip on the wet rock - another of those free fall embarrassments which my camera yet again survives, and fortunately I’m only marked by grazes on my right hand and knee. Dangerous business this photography! 
The tide is almost rushing in, so photos taken, it’s time to head back before our route is completely cut off. 

From Saltwick, it’s on to Robin Hood’s Bay, fish and chips on a terrace with the most amazing view, and a decision to abandon a return visit to Whitby both because dark clouds descend and I decide I’m just too tired to explore. 

And so we head for home - our last night in our little cottage - stopping for some final moorland views at Ana Cross and Rosedale. It’s been a fabulous week. 

Thanks so much for your wonderful response to yesterday’s owls. I’m afraid I’m miles behind with comments and responses - but if I have a long wait before Friday’s operation, I may be able to catch up! 

Today’s main is the wreck in front of Black Nab, with the usual arrested extras! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.