Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Lichens encrusting old chimney pot

It has been dull today, with a little rain, so we've been finishing our beetle/seed counting.

I ventured into the garden with my camera, and was attracted to one of the other chimney pots that my brother salvaged many years ago from derelict houses in the north of England. This one was beautifully scrubbed by my father before being packed up to accompany my parents to New Zealand so that it would pass MAF's inspection process. These lichens have grown over the pot since it became an inhabitant of first my parents', and now my garden here in Christchurch.

I have some faded photographs of a couple of youths standing on top of the roof of a terraced stone house, and of my brother sitting by the chimney stack lowering one of the chimney pots on a rope down the steeply pitched roof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.