Friday flower daisy fest

The entire communal garden behind the complex continues to be a daisy festival - a carpet of little white and yellow flower heads bouncing back and forth this morning in the sunny, but bitterly cold wind that is today's weather.  I hear from ex colleagues that Istanbul teachers are enjoying yet another at home day with the third snow day in the latest snow fest there!  Amazing for the back end of March. I am having a quiet at home day too. The sun had gone by 14.30 and the very cold buffeting wind is the only incentive I need to stay home with my usual activities and furry companion. 

Today is Canakkale Day in Turkey to commemorate Galipoli 1915-1916 campaign of WWI.  Extra photo is of my paternal grandfather, a Lance Corporal in the Durham Light Infantry in Salonica, (Thessaloniki) in 1916. According to my father, he would never talk about his experience in WWI, but the shrapnel in his lower back plagued him for the rest of his life. "The DLI fought on the Western Front (at Ypres, Loos, Arras, Messines, Cambria, the Somme and Passchendaele) in Italy, Egypt, Salonika and India in every major battle of the Great War  (Wikipedia).  My bro and I spent quite a lot of time last month when I was home, engaged in online research about him after finding this photograph that has the year and location written on the back in an unfamiliar hand.

I am contemplating the contrast between the sweet daisies and the terror of war - not sure what just yet, but confident I feel a new art work coming on :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.