Goosey Goosey Gander...

whither shall I wander...

Well this one with a few hundred of its pink-footed kin is passing through RSPB Loch Leven Nature Reserve on the way north to breed in Iceland or Greenland. There were many groups scattered around the grassy fields and we watched as three large skeins brought another few hundred (some of them top photo in the extra). Bottom photo is a much-cropped catch of lapwings,  one of my favourite species, which breed at the reserve. I enjoyed watching from the Carden Hide as they flew to and fro.

Most of the noise was created by black-headed gulls, but the tufted duck appeared not to notice and the mute swans ignored them.

Sadly, my binoculars seem to have acquired a squint so my views of distant species were limited, and I'm still using the TZ10 with limited zoom, unlike other visitors with long lenses on their cameras.

Leaving there we pottered across country to Falkland before tootling home as the blue skies became hazy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.